if I ever have a son

Because I can’t seem to backup my hard drive enough to not lose everything every five to seven years, I’ve decided that I’m going to put things that I want to remember onto my blog. Not things like my grocery list. That would just be silly now wouldn’t it? (I’ve found a great droid app for that anyway. It’s called inkpad or something, and you can sync it with your online lists. It’s bomb, but I digress.)

While I was stalking a friend on facebook last week, I discovered a post of hers that I decided to tuck away. Each night, she reads to her three year old son, and tries to leave him with a thought to, as she says in apparently true brooklyn form, “marinate on.”

Tonight, it was this little gem:

Be humble about your accomplishments, work harder than the man next to you, it is all right for boys to cry. Sometimes crying releases a lot of pain. Never be ashamed to cry. It has nothing to do with your manhood.

Upon further research (and by research I mean a quick google search which gave me exactly what I was looking for in less than a second), I found the quote to be from Sgt Charles King.

Now if you are lucky enough to be at home around 4pm, then you probably saw this on Oprah. I on the other hand always miss that show, so please excuse my slowness as I uncover little things here and there that I’d like to put in my pocket for my (potential) little boy.

In 2006, Sgt. King was killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq, just weeks after coming home to see his 6-month-old son Jordan for the first time. His fiance, Dana Canedy, had given him a journal which he decided to fill up with entries for his son.

After his death, his fiance turned his musings into a book called “A Journal For Jordan: A Story Of Love And Honor.”

Thank you for sharing his wisdom with the rest of us, Dana. It’s a shame that the war has claimed the lives of so many wonderful people.

Leave a Reply

