A resolution I may try less hard to break

Is it too early to start talking about New Year Resolutions?

Because eff it; I’m about to.

Now, I normally don’t make resolutions since I know I will just break them. Most of the time they have to do with weight anyway, and we all know that weight-related resolutions go strong until about March, and then they just fizzle out. I think I naturally do well with my weight until about fall/winter (although, doing “well” is all relative), at which point all the eating I’ve done throughout the year seems to finally catch up with me. Right now, I’m about five pounds heavier than what I’ve managed to stay at all year. All of a sudden as of last week – boom! I’m not eating any more (or less) than I have all year, and yet something has changed.

And not only has my weight gone up, but in general, my overall attention to taking care of myself and my home have reduced dramatically.

You’re ready to hear my resolution now. I know. You know how I know? Because you’re just as impatient as I am. Okay, the torture shall stop now.

Stop. Being. Lazy.

That’s it. THAT’s my resolution – to stop being lazy. Because when I think about it, a lot of the things I’ve done, or haven’t done rather, is from sheer laziness. Cleaning our house, working out, doing simple me-time activities like painting my nails, visiting my friends, or even being more intimate with my husband, all get set aside because, well, I’m too damn lazy to take care of it.

So if the only thing I can remember in 2012 is to stop being lazy in general, then I may be able to kill several birds with one stone. Not that I’m a bird-killer or anything.

3 thoughts on “A resolution I may try less hard to break

  1. I think “stop being lazy” is my biggest resolution for this year, too…a huge umbrella over the 100+ other things I’ve decided to do, but laziness is the biggest reason nothing gets done.. I wish there was a support group – lazy folks anonymous 🙂

    Cheers & good luck –
    http://100in2012.wordpress.com/

  2. Yes, it’s exactly that isn’t it? An umbrella category that is at the root of it all!

    Thanks for your comment and good luck to you as well!

    Hey – let’s start our own support group for it! Eh….maybe later 😉

Leave a Reply

