Honey…Wheat Bread. Or, Honey Wheat Bread.

After being (pretty much) successful at brioche bread, I decided I’d try my hand at wheat bread. But I like the honey wheat bread from the store. So then I decided to try making honey wheat bread. And awaaayyy I went : )

Let’s begin…

Ingredients

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package rapid rise yeast
  • 1 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1/2 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup melted shortening
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 2 tablespoons butter
 Two things I changed…..
  1. I used 1/3 cup of honey instead of 1/4 because all the recipes I looked at that had reviews showed a general consensus of wanting more honey.
  2. I used butter instead of shortening because I didn’t want to buy a whole can of shortening to use a wee bit of it. I don’t have other recipes with shortening in my future…yet.
Now then, on to the fun! And this time, I took pictures at different stages! I always forget to do that so I’m happy I did this time. Again, I have disclaimers. They are a) my camera stinks b) even if it was a great camera, I stink at taking pictures, and c) it’s hard to take pictures with one hand and for instance, knead dough with the other. My third arm is in the shop. Sorry team.

Directions

  • Dissolve yeast and sugar in 1/2 cup warm water.
  • Combine milk, 1/4 cup water, shortening, honey, salt and wheat flour in food processor or bowl. Mix in yeast mixture, and let rest 15 minutes.

Evaporated milk is in the bowl. On the left, is my sugar, yeast and water mixture. On the left left, is my garbage bowl. Rachel Ray is on to something with that!

Here, I'm measuring out my honey. Might I add that I LOVE these monster measuring spoon thingies? I thought I'd go without them when I was wedding-registering since I have a million measuring cups, but these really increase accuracy, making it easier to do things like compact brown sugar and get flour just right.

I've added the appropriate ingredients, mixed them up, and am now adding the dissolved sugar and yeast. I couldn't get a good picture of how the yeast had risen as it patiently waited for its turn in the bowl. But it had, which is great, because if you see frothiness in your yeast mixture, it's a good thing.

Here, I'm adding my whole wheat flour. Again with the measuring cup/spoons - they make it easy to just pull your correct measurement out of the bag, and level it off with a knife. What are these called anyway? : )

  • Add bread flour, and process until dough forms a ball. Knead dough by processing an additional 80 seconds in food processor, or mix and knead by hand 10 minutes.

I usually like to make things from scratch and by hand the first time. But today, I noticed a fresh boo-boo on the palm of my hand and thought it best to not get my hands in the dough. Also, I realized I have dough hooks on my hand blender. I've had it for almost two years and it never occurred to me to use them. Nice!

  • Place the dough in a buttered bowl, and turn to coat. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough rise for 45 minutes, or until almost doubled.

Buh-bye big bowl.

Grow for mama!

  • Punch down, and divide dough in half. Roll out each half, and pound out the bubbles. Form into loaves, and place in buttered 9×5 inch bread pans. Butter the tops of the dough, and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm area until doubled; second rise should take about 30 minutes.
grown to a loaf

Covered and risen for about 30 minutes - these babies are ready for baking!

  • Place a small pan of water on the bottom shelf of the oven. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  • Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until tops are dark golden brown. Butter crusts while warm. Slice when cool.

Okay, so I forgot to "butter the crusts while warm." I also forgot to cut a line down the top so you get that nice divide in the middle. So I did it about 10 minutes into the bake and it came out...well, kind of weird looking? I'm just going to pretend I did that on purpose!

The  bread came out incredibly delicious! Really, it was just as good (if not better!) than the store-bought bread. Yes, store-bought bread can come out a little softer, but I think if I had buttered the outside when I took it out of the oven, it may have been a little different. Plus, these days, even the wheat bread can have high fructose corn syrup, and of course, tons of preservatives. This is such a fun way to fill up your home with the smell of baked goodness on a Sunday, and feel good about that sandwiches that hubby and kids eat throughout the week. And the recipe (and it seems, all bread recipes) make two loaves. So this is good for a big family, or for sharing – which is my personal favorite!

I had to go to a birthday dinner last night, literally leaving the second I took these out of the oven. Hubby came home too late from work to join us at the restaurant, so he had some leftovers and this bread. In fact, he said he had about three slices because it was so good. That makes my heart happy : )

Good morning honey! Errm...honey wheat bread, that is.

I had a piece of toast this morning, with a little natural peanut butter from, you guessed it, Trader Joe’s. It was divine! I especially liked the extra honey that I put in there. It didn’t make it too sweet; actually I think the added honey made the bread taste just right.

Tonight, the sister gets the other loaf. I finished too late to drop it off at their house last night, although I would have liked them to have it totally fresh. Regardless, I can’t wait to hear what they think! And I shared a piece with a coworker today. At first he was like, “um I don’t want a piece of bread.” And then he ate it all and said, “oops I ate it all. I’m going to call you crack bread-maker. Also, bring me a loaf next time.” I take that as a very good sign : )

One thought on “Honey…Wheat Bread. Or, Honey Wheat Bread.

  1. Pingback: Honey Wheat Bread Part 2 « laila Alive

Leave a Reply

