Warm It Up Chris! Errr..Soup. Warm it Up Soup!

I made THIS and of course, it was delicious. I say of course because I pretty much wouldn’t post anything that I made that wasn’t delicious. Why? Because I like to pretend that everything I make is delicious. There. There’s your truth! Are you happy now?

But really, this chicken and white bean soup was so tasty and EXACTLY what hubby and I needed after the long, blustery day we had. I love that my local grocery store has french bread that is so fresh at 6pm, that it’s super warm when you pick one up. (Thank you for thinking of all the nine to fivers and their endless quest to have a half-decent meal every night!) So warm crustry bread and a simple green salad with creamy dressing (to supplement this brothy soup), was unbelievable! I also got a bottle of really cheap red wine. It was like $4, but it was actually really good (to my standards anyway)!

The best part is, that it requires so few ingredients and steps. (Read: CHEAP and EASY.)  The cheapness was great, as I am totally broke right now. Haha! (I laugh. But I’m dying inside.) <—just kidding. (Okay maybe not entirely.) And I was REALLY short on time because I had to get a few letters of recommendation out for some of my references to sign for an upcoming interview.

So here it is ladies and gentleman.

Oh! Quick note: while I did think it was weird that the recipe called for a 2-lb roasted chicken, I got two anyway. Actually, I got 2-1 lb roasted chickens because that’s the size of the roasted chickens that all the grocery stores in my area sell. I knew that it was too much, but I bought it and shredded it anyway, figuring we could use the leftovers. Although, if you don’t like your brothy soups brothy (like I do) then by all means, go ahead and put 2 lbs of shredded roast chicken in there. Otherwise, you’re probably good with just a one pounder (or a one-and-a-half pounder).

Well, okay, several quick notes. The thing with this website is that, while it is great for inspriation and finding healthy meals, sometimes the recipes are off, whether it’s ingredient quantity or flavor. So in italics below, I showed the changes that I made. You’re welcome to try it per the original recipe of course. OR you can try my way. Or the best way, which is YOUR way!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 leeks, white and light green parts only, cut into 1/4-inch rounds (I couldn’t find any, so I used two bundles of green onion)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh sage, or 1/4 teaspoon dried (I used dried and pretty much put three times as much in)
  • 2 14-ounce cans reduced-sodium chicken broth (I just used what I always do, chicken boullion. And I did it with 3-3.5 cups of water)
  • 2 cups water (I only did about 3/4 cup of water since I had upped my broth. You decide! This is totally based on the thickness and taste you want to achieve)
  • 1 15-ounce can cannellini beans, rinsed
  • 1 2-pound roasted chicken, skin discarded, meat removed from bones and shredded (4 cups) (next time, I’ll use a one-pounder)
  • (I added 2 minced garlic cloves, a little bit of kosher salt, and fresh ground black pepper)
Preparation:
  1. Heat oil in a Dutch oven (or just use a soup pot like I did  for goodness sakes) over medium-high heat. Add leeks (or green onion) and cook, stirring often, until soft, about 3 minutes. Stir in sage (this is where I added my minced garlic and little salt) and continue cooking until aromatic, about 30 seconds. Stir in broth and water, increase heat to high, cover and bring to a boil. Add beans and chicken and cook, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until heated through, about 3 minutes. Serve hot.
Leave a Reply

