3 Months, In Paint

Okay so I up and quit my job in this horrible time. For my wah-wahs about it, click here.

In a nutshell – Hubby’s business was finally doing well enough to give me the tiniest bit of breathing room. I had enough saved up to get me through a few months, plus I’d been wanting to just serve some tables, chat people up like I like to do, and make some effing cash without all the bullshit that comes with management. I was overworked and underpaid. And (this part was my fault because I should have demanded it knowing that I’m not a robot) I hadn’t been able to take any time off in about a year and a half.

I thought – this is it! This is when I get to use my free time to work on that business plan. I’m awesome. No, I’m downright bitchin. And I can do this. And I just need this mental break so that I can focus, and not be so tired from staring at a computer all day, that I have zero motivation.

Month one? Worked incredibly well. I got so much work done on the plan. I was incredibly proud of myself.

Month two? Well…..okay so I got a part time job working two regular days a week, in addition to my 3-4 night shifts a week at a restaurant. I must say, getting used going to bed early for two days of work, and then going to bed late because I got off at 12 or 1230 and I could sleep in the next day, really did take some getting used to. Then we went on a little trip. So month two was shot. Stop rolling your eyes at my excuses dammit!

Month three? Here we are in month three. Month three has thus far been a combination of goofing off (notice how many blog posts there have been lately, hmm?) and working on the business plan. To my credit ( I said STOP rolling your eyes!), I tweaked my idea a little bit to something that will cost me significantly less to start up, allow extra mobility, and also  lessen the pool of competitors by about a million percent. It’s just that there are entire portion of the business plan that now must be redone. I’m one person for goodness sakes. ONE.

If you don’t want to read the 3-month summary. Here it is in illustrated form. Bear with me. I did it in Paint.


And the whole reason I realized all this is because of this post from Brazen Careerist. Now these people usually take the words right out of my mouth. So when I woke up this morning, picked up my phone to look at the time, quickly opened my emails because I can’t ignore the little envelope icon, no matter what the hell time it is, and the subject line read: “Want to Follow Your Dreams? Don’t Quit Your Day Job,” I almost fell out of my effing chair. If I was in a chair. I was in bed though remember? So I almost rolled outta bed and bumped mah head. There, that better?

The article makes lots of sense. And lately I have been looking for work, with the understanding that I will use it to help me save enough money to make my business a reality. But why didn’t I think about that sooner, before I quit my job. I forgot what a pansy I was when it came to job hunting.

Leave a Reply

