Shel the Gem

Who doesn’t like Shel Silverstein? Don’t say “I don’t.” You’re lying. Ain’t nobody out there that don’t like them some Shel Silverstein, mmmkay? He’s like Sara Lee. And nobody doesn’t like Sara Lee. So just stop denying it and keep reading. There’s a treat involved here.

Thanks.

Okay then, where was I? Ah yes – Shel Silverstein. Where the Sidewalk Ends. The Giving Tree. A Light in the Attic. Hello? People?! Are you hearing me?! This man provided gobs of entertainment to me as a child. And if I had to guess, you were the kid reading his other book, on the floor, in the library, in the aisle next to me.

Now that I think about it, the one book I kept from childhood is my Where the Sidewalk Ends. It still puts a smile on my face.

So my eyes lit up when I stumbled upon what I think is the entirety of The Missing Piece Meets the Big O. Once again, I’m affected. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some liftpullflopping of my own to do.

Leave a Reply

