Accidentally Delicious – Yahoo!

So I normally love throwing random ingredients together, and usually have the energy (and fundage) to run to the store for one or two ingredients. But today, it was a no-go.

I bought a bunch of rolls for this past Sunday. My sister was taking us on a trip a few hours away, as an early birthday gift for me. I decided to take the leftover cheese, sausage and fruit as a snack, and bought a big bag of rolls to go along with it. Unfortunately, my sister made a boo-boo. The tickets she bought for the ferry to the island were great, but she missed the part about needing reservations. And we figured that out about an hour into our 2 -hour drive to the ferry. So we went to the harbor anyway, because it’s a cute little town. She bought us breakfast, and then we drove home. (Silly girl!) Breakfast was bomb though, and since we’re all breakfast people, it worked out in the end.

But I here I am, with about 15 rolls that I have to get creative with. Last night, I made inside out lasagna, and used a couple rolls. Boom, that worked.

Tonight though? What to do? What to do????

I was just fresh out of ideas. I knew I had some frozen ground turkey, rolls, spinach, leftover cheese aaaaaaand, well, that was about it. But I refused to go to the store. So hubby was just gonna have to deal with something bland. Like he says, he eats to live, he doesn’t live to eat, (which I usually respond to with a resounding “awww shove it,” followed by a bite of something delicious), so it would be okay to have something less than stellar.

When I got home, I started rummaging through the cupboards, looking for tomato sauce or something. Maybe I could make sloppy turkey joes? Never made sloppy joes before, but whatever.

That is…until I found an Indian sauce package from trader joes. Pav Bhaji to be exact – a sauce made with potatoes, tomatoes and vegetables, and usually eaten with traditional Indian naan or jasmine rice.

In went a couple of minced garlic cloves, and shortly after, defrosted ground turkey. Quick! Find some tomatoes and chop them – stat! Cooked the turkey up and threw the tomatoes in. Then went the Indian sauce. And one of my favorite tricks: adding more of the spices that are listed in the ingredients. This time? Cumin, coriander, tumeric and chili powder. Of course I added some kosher salt to the turkey, as well as fresh ground black pepper. And because I can’t help myself, I added the tiniest bit of cayenne. Then I pulled out some smoked gouda from the cheese plate on Sunday, toasted up the buns and melted the gouda on top, piled on the turkey mixture until it was overflowing, topped that with spinach, and finished with a few dollops of plain yogurt with a pinch of kosher salt.I also added a few sprigs of parsley. But I remembered that I had that when we were halfway through the meal soooooo it didn’t make it into the picture. Hush now! Parsley isn’t just for garnish! Try it! It adds a whole lotta freshness.

OH. Myyyyyy. Gawwwwwwwwd! Oh my gawwd! This was a happy accident!

Take THAT writer’s block! But um…in cooking form. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

