About Motivation

Funny thing…I didn’t really mean to post my last post with the Walt Disney quote in it. But today, when I logged on, I noticed that it had been viewed 30 times! That’s more than 30 times my normal views! Hhaha. No but really, it is.

I thought I put it on my WordPress app late last night as a draft, so I could remember to blog on it today. Looks like I didn’t need to add anything myself to it. But I will. Sorry guys.

So I up and quit my full time job a couple of weeks ago. I had been miserable for a while, and reading through all my blog postings from when I started this thing back in December, it reminded me how much I hated my job, and just how miserable I was. I was busting my butt for some asshole, making him rich and stressing out. It’s not that I don’t like hard work. I actually love it. Like love it to a fault (if you’re talking to my hubby). And for quite some time I’ve wanted to open my own eatery. As a matter of fact, I remember thinking about it since I was little. So that’s what I’ve decided to do. Work a couple part-time jobs to supplement the three months of living I saved up before I quit, and do what I’ve always wanted to do. After all, my husband and I are young .We have no kids and pretty much no obligation to anyone else. He is a small business owner too, and I’ve done some marketing and advertising for him this year that has brought in more clients than he got all of last year. Yes consumers are, well consuming a wee bit more this year than last, but still.He’s able to pick up a little more slack these days, which has been a huge issue and part of why I stayed at a miserable job, just to collect the regular paycheck.

But if you knew me in real life, you’d know that nothing freaks me out more than not being able to pay my bills. I hate owing people money, and I hate having debt. So opening a small business is not just a huge risk, it’s a whole lifestyle change that I’m looking at here. And it’s totally okay. Because never have I felt more confident and sure about myself. And that feeling is speaking volumes to me. It’s making me think that things are going to be all right. I know that I want to be the best I can be and offer the best tasting products I can. And passion shows through, right? If I’m truly passionate about what I do, and give it my all, then success will come.

Which is why the Walt Disney quote was so appropriate. In fact, I have run into quite a few quotes that have inspired me as of late. And to be honest, very rarely do I look for quotes or inspiration in that form. I’m actually learning what looking for inspiration is all about. I alwayas thought motivation had to come from within, because I didn’t want to burden other people to help me stay motivated. But I suddenly stumble upon gems like this, and they renew my energy and confidence. I had no idea a few simple words could be so powerful. But I’m definitely willing to listen.

Thanks Mr. Disney, for this wonderful quote. Also, thank you for Disneyland. I love that fucking place.

Leave a Reply

