The Little Movies in my Head

I’ve always been fascinated by dreams. Actually what I’ve always been fascinated with is their interpretations and how, regardless of where we come from, what our background is and what experiences we’ve had, many elements in our dreams can be interpreted the same. The brain and consciousness is an amazing thing.

For the past week, I’ve been dreaming a great deal. Well, you always dream apparantly, so what I guess I mean is that I’ve actually been remembering them.

My mom likes to interpret dreams as a hobby. She is in fact very intuitive, one characteristic of hers that I am proud to share. But really just the one. Needless to say, I have NEVER brought up my dreams to her, particularly when I was younger. Even if they freaked me out. But I digress.

I’ve been under an immense amount of pressure at work lately. I starter working at a small company at the end of 2008. I run pretty much everything internally for a mile a minute owner – managing the office, all the marketing, HR, IT, oversee accounting, redid all of or contracts and the process which we do things. After 30 years the comapny, organizationally, was in shambles. We are doing much better now thanks to me. And the owner, whom I work directly with, sees that luckily.

I also helped him launch a new contracting sister company. It was something neither of us had a background in, but we have found a niche market and two years later are THE go to company in our region. As we grow, my job has turned from one full time position, into basically two positions crammed into one. I am overwhelmed beyond belief and like most idiot bosses, he does many a thing that not only makes you feel underappreciated, but also fearful of your future role.

I have been given the opportunity to mold my own position as we grow. That’s great! Except he’s made some serious decisions that affect me without consulting me first. He knows he’s done this and I think he feels bad, but he can’t go back.

And while I am incredibly frustrated, I’m also just tired thinking about it! Apparently my subconscious is not however.

The night before last, I dreamt that I was hanging out with my friends in front of the coffee shop at night. Even my husband was there, and it must have been a friday because everyone was out.

The whole thing happened very calmly, however at some point a big huge dog, that actually looked like it was stuffed, locked it jaws onto my back and took a bite. It wasn’t an agonizing pain, but a serious throbbing that I think I felt in real life. It was weird to say the least. Aren’t dreams always weird though?

Last night I dreamt I was at a costume party. In my dream I really had to go to the bathroom. So I searched and searched until I found one upstairs. It was a long, large bathroom with a toilet on one end, a bathtub in the middle, and a sink at the other end. I sat down to…ahem…pee, but I was having a little difficult. Suddenly, a gaggle of girls burst in there through the door at the other end of the bathroom. They seemed to be carrying another girl who was much taller and fighting to be set free. The bathtub in front of me was some how already filled, as is common in dreams. And these girls proceeded to drown her!

While in normal circumstances it would have been impossible for them not to see me, only one of them did, and she didn’t care enough to alert the others. She was taking too much pleasure in the drowning. So, I gathered myself and walked quietly out the door right next to me.

Other things happened too, but nothing that alarmed me like this. So I woke up.

Ever visit http://www.dreammoods.com? It is a fantastic resource for looking up the meaning behind the things you see in your dreams.

The answer to my bite (to dream that you are being bitten, represents your vulnerability regarding some unresolved issues or emotions. You may be pestered by a problem or obstacle. The dream may also be a metaphor indicating that you have bitten off more than you chew. Perhaps you have too much to handle) by a dog (to see a dog in your dream, symbolizes intuition, loyalty, generosity, protection and fidelity. The dream suggests that your strong values and good intentions will enable you to go forward in the world and bring you success), being at a costume party (to dream that you are at a costume party, suggests that you are trying to escape from the demands of real life. You want to enjoy life and not worry about your daily responsibilities) and witnessing a drowning (to see someone drowning in your dream, suggests that you are becoming too deeply involved in something that is beyond your control. Alternatively, it represents a sense of loss in your own identity. You are unable to differentiate who you are anymore) were so unbelievably representative of how I am feeling. And even weirder is that I would never really have been able to pinpoint those feelings or verbalize them myself. Most of the time, it just feels like my heart is shattering and I’m in a cloud of confusion. But my dreams and subsequent interpretation of them made my feelings real, if only to myself. And am I not the first person that should validate them?

Granted, once I read it I think…of course! That makes PERFECT sense! But still.

Thank you wonderful brain of mine, for making me the star of my own personal film and for helping me understand what I’m feeling. Oh yeah, thank you dreammoods too!

4 thoughts on “The Little Movies in my Head

  1. Is this some weird New Year thing? I too have been having the most bizarre, lucid dreams lately, with all kinds of odd and convoluted plotlines. I have no clue where my brain (ahem) dreams this stuff up.

  2. Hmmm you might be on to something Ms Ruby. Maybe it was the Dream Elve’s new years resolution to infiltrate our heads with the weirdest movies we’ve ever seen. Those bastards! : )

    I think I’m dreaming for a reason. Actually I’m almost positive it’s because of this reason. But that’s another post entirely…

  3. I think that it’s Laila’s influence. I had a wowser of a dream the other night that my therapist and I dissected. And when is this post about why you’re dreaming coming? Or why you’re remembering your dreams? Or why you’re remembering these specific dreams?

    Dreams are clusters of emotions are subconscious is hanging on to…if we listen (and have some help) we might understand the message it wants us to hear…

    : ) I’ll help y’all if you help me, Miss Ruby and Lailita.

  4. I know we all supposedly dream multiple times each night, but isn’t it odd when, for whatever reason, you find yourself going through a phase of remembering the things so very clearly the next day? Especially when they involve the kind of, um, inventive plotlines that Hollywood scriptwriters get paid good money to come up with? I’ve had plenty of mornings where I’ve woken up feeling a bit cheated after dreaming about, say, clearing out my email inbox at work (seriously!), but the ones where my brain has come up with a whole story, complete with interesting locations and a whole cast of characters… mmm, I need to know what it is my subconscious is getting at with those ones, ‘cos they can sometimes be interesting. Although sometimes a bit disturbing as well! Very interesting if you can figure out why you’re dreaming what you’re dreaming, though… which gets me to my point: would love to read that blog post, so anytime you feel like writing it…! 🙂

Leave a Reply

