Orange You Glad I Had Extra Frosting?

First off, this post may SAY the 8th, but it’s really the 7th in real time, which means I have still blogged once a day! I just did yesterday’s early in the morning and am doing this later. Hmph! : )

Okay, now down to beeeezness. As you (my real and imaginary blog friends) know, I made our Christmas Eve dinner interactive by making sugar cookies and cream cheese frosting in advance, and then bringing all the decorations to the table after dinner so we could decorate our own cookies and have a good time. It was a lot of fun! And lucky for me, I had tons of extra cream cheese frosting.

Unlucky for me, the frosting developed a gosh darn larynx and decided to speak to me, whispering things like, laila…you know you want me. You wouldn’t have put me in the quiet tupperwares if you didn’t; the ones that fit ever so snuggly onto the container instead of snapping into place. You did it so you could sneak fingerloads of the sweet creaminess that is me and that husband of yours would never know. Do it laila. Do iiiiiiiiiit…

Dammit, cream cheese frosting! Why must you haunt me so?!

Anyway, the hubs has been sick this week and he likes sliced oranges (ayso soccer style) when he’s not feeling too hot. So while I was cutting some up for him, I took the opportunity to put a little bit of frosting on one of the slices (I just wanted to test out the flavors – geeeeeeeez!) and for goodness sakes…it was absolutely amazing. Then – LIGHTBULB! Orange muffins with cream cheese frosting! I know I’m not the first to think of that combination. But DUH! Why didn’t I think of that sooner?

yeah laila…why couldn’t you have thought of that sooner?

Shut up, cream cheese frosting!

So as usual, I checked out good ol’ AllRecipes.com. I can’t help it. They have reviews. That means dozens of people have gone and perfected the recipe and are just sitting there waiting for me to try it : ) Also as usual, I couldn’t stick to the recipe and did a bunch of my own stuff. So what…it always comes out friggin fabulous!

And here goes two recipes…orange and blueberry muffins and cream cheese frosting. Make them. Love them. Write to me about them, k?

Oh, did I mention that I took 12 out of 18 of them to work, ate two of them this morning for breakfast (they were small – calm down!) and came home to ZERO? Gotta love the garbage disposal of a husband that I have.But unfortunately, I don’t have any pics. Oh well…guess I’ll have to make them again sometime! ***UPDATE: The sister was jealous that she didn’t get any so I made more; bigger ones this time. They came out better than the first batch!

Orange & Blueberry Muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • zest of 1 medium-large orange
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 18 cup muffin tin, or line with paper liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together 2 cups flour, 3/4 cup white sugar, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the vegetable oil, orange juice, buttermilk, orange zest, vanilla, and eggs. Add blueberries to wet ingredients, then pour the wet ingredients into the dry, and mix until just blended. Don’t over-mix as it will sink. Some lumps are okay.
  3. Fill the prepared muffin cups until they are 2/3 full.
  4. Bake for 18-20 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted into the crown of a muffin, comes out clean. Cool in the pan, over a wire rack.

Feel free to omit the blueberries. I put them in there because they were on sale and looking particularly sexy at the store, so I bought two packages and didn’t want them to go bad. Also, if you only want to do 12 muffins, you can increase the time to 20-22 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients 

  • 2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions 

  1. In a medium bowl, cream together the cream cheese and butter until it’s….you guessed it! Creamy! Mix in the vanilla, then gradually stir in the confectioners’ sugar.

NOTE: You can always add more sugar if you’d like, as this is not a super sweet frosting as described. I really like it as is, but that’s because I’m a cheese head and love the taste of cheese in general. I think it really depends on what you’re putting it on as well. Sweeten it up if you’re not putting it on something overly sweet! Try not to eat yer fingers off, k? : )

Leave a Reply

