Thanks to You! (And You. And YOU. And You!)

I cannot thank you all enough for your kind words and encouragement. I started this little blog as a journal to help me get through what I believe is my quarter-life crisis. In laying it all out, I hope to be able to come to peace with myself, my family and my past, in order to live a more peaceful future.

I did not know the power that a few comments would hold. But I assure you all, it has been unbelievably ….. gosh I can’t even think of the word! Soothing? Helpful? No, no. Neither of those are strong enough to describe the warmth you have all brought into my life in such a short time.

So, I can only thank you all – from the bottom of my heart.

Also surprising, was how much my posts about my childhood have brought up in terms of raw emotion. I’ve started part III about my mother, but I am so deeply conflicted about her presence in my life, that it’s been difficult to hit the “publish” button. I hope to get that out in the next day or so.

In the meantime, I stumbled upon this amazing imagery from the Boston Globe and wanted to share. I believe they were taken this last August, during ramadan, the muslim month of prayer and fasting. Despite growing up muslim, I am not religious. But the goals of ramadan cannot be denied –  learn patience, self-scarfice, and give to others freely, just to name a few.The beauty of these pictures reminded me that we as a people, all of us, not just muslims or middle easterners, but human kind, are exactly that. Human, and kind. Take away the politics, money and nonsesense, and you find beautiful societies, full of life, vibrant color, love, and a common search for answers.

Enjoy the images!

www.boston.com/bigpicture/2010/08/ramadan_2010.html

Leave a Reply

