Butternut Squash Soup (& Pasta Sauce Base!)

I had NEVER tried butternut squash before in general, let alone in soup form. But this was one of those wild-hair issues that I deal with when it comes to cooking. I used this recipe on AllRecipes.com, but because I made some changes (that I added in the comment section but is now buried three pages deep because everyone has tried this recipe!), I’ve decided to just post it here the way I made it.

It is sooo incredibly delicious that I’ve made it three times already in the last couple of months. I actually crave it! And I think it’s healthier than other butternut squash soups that have loads of cream in it. The squash itself is so unbelievably creamy, that you simply do not need the added cream.

Also, if you’re lucky enough to have a grocery store that sells the squash already peeled, cut and seeded, GET IT! I usually opt for the hard way because I like to use my knives and make things from scratch, but butternut squash can be difficult and time consuming to get prepped. I’ve done it once so I can say that I did, but from now on, I’ll be headed to Trader Joe’s for the bags that are ever so patiently waiting for me on their shelves 🙂

AND I almost forgot! I ended up using the leftovers to make a pasta sauce. It was sooooooooooooo good! And I LOVE doubling up like that! It’s so genius!

So here goes:

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter or 3 tbsp olive oil (I used olive oil because I usually don’t have any butter except around the holidays)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 medium carrot, chopped
  • 3 medium potatoes, cubed
  • 2 medium butternut squash – peeled, seeded, and cubed
  • 2 (64 fluid ounce) container chicken stock or chicken bouillon/water (which is what I always use because I have it on hand)
  • 3 cloves of garlic,chopped finely
  • 3/4 tsp each of cumin and smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp of cayenne (optional)
  • sour cream (optional)
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Melt the butter in a large pot, and cook the onion, celery, carrot, potatoes, and squash 5 minutes, or until lightly browned. You can also roast the veggies in the oven on a large baking sheet.
  2. Pour in enough of the chicken stock to cover vegetables and add all your spices. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover pot, and simmer 30-40 minutes, or until all vegetables are tender.
  3. Transfer the soup to a blender, and blend until smooth. Return to pot, and mix in any remaining stock to attain desired consistency. (I got a stick blender from the wedding and it has been one of my favorite tools! Just insert the stick blender into the pot and voila! So much LESS MESS! Also, I like to leave a few small pieces of vegetables for color and so you can see some of what is in there.)
  4. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Serve with dollop of sour cream.

The creaminess of the squash is awesome, and with some sour cream leftover from a party and fresh french bread, the whole setup was perfect! I thought this recipe was the perfect base for the spices I love to use, and I always encourage my friends and family to use the spices THEY love in the recipes they stumble upon.You’ll love it even more!

Although….sometimes it’s good to make the recipe as-is first, particularly if you’re not very culinarily comfortable (haha I think I just made up a phrase). Or simply use other ingredients in a recipe that you normally wouldn’t use, just to keep things interesting : )

The next night, I used the leftovers over pasta and it was marvelous! I browned lean ground turkey in a pan, then added a few ladles full of soup, cooked some of the liquid off, added red pepper flakes and a good helping of parmesan cheese. Mixed in cooked whole grain pasta right into the pan to let the sauce coat the pasta and yum!

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup (& Pasta Sauce Base!)

  1. I might try this sometime. I’ve always kinda wondered what butternut squash tasted like. I heard it doesn’t really taste like other squash varieties. Somebody gave my mom one a little while back, but I don’t think she ever cooked it.

    • You should! And I think they’re right; it doesn’t seem to taste like other varieties. I eat squash because we should…not because I like to 🙂 So try it out! I’m curious what you think! Now that I think about it, I also tried spaghetti squash a while back. It was FABULOUS in place of spaghetti noodles. Ever tried that?

Leave a Reply

